Posted by: OCI | September 29, 2010

SNAPSHOT: Find the Time

The Medical Missionary School in Sarata Noua, Moldova, just held their first Bible revival youth camp, “Feast of Tabernacles,” in August 2010.

The goal of the camp was to offer young people an escape from a hectic city lifestyle and to reflect on Jesus’ Second Coming and their mission. Participants came from a variety of backgrounds, but all were united by a spiritual revival and renovation that took place during the camp.

The camp especially touched one participant. Here is his story.

There is no time – Sometimes that seems like the motto of our generation.

My name is Pogor Roman. I’m 26 years old. I live and work in Glodeni, a small town in the north of Moldova.

During the last seven years I was in a rush to become successful. I wanted my career to thrive and I wanted to gain financial independence. I didn’t have enough time to communicate with my parents. I was rude to them because they distracted me from my work. I was especially angry with my father, who tried to teach me valuable life lessons. I thought, What does he know about life?

On August 21, 2009, I returned to my house and met a doctor in the doorway who told me my father was dead … Time stopped. I stopped hurrying. I stopped, simply stopped. I didn’t want anything anymore.

Then my friend Ilgar, who I had been studying with, invited me to the medical missionary camp in Sarata Noua. I agreed to go.

I’m glad I came. I met many people, simple people who seem no different than the hundreds of thousands of others in my country, but they are special. There is something that distinguishes them from everyone else; how they spend their time—they spend their spare time speaking about faith, health, proper food, and about the importance of the relationship between families and society. They pray for each other and encourage each other.

I saw how different my life was from theirs as I observed how they play with their children and educate them. They are open and honest about the most important things in the life, health, family, and faith. Before I never spoke about these things with my family or friends. I didn’t have time.

I left the camp with a great peace in my heart. I now know what I will do with my life. I want to study the Word of God and His simple truths in the Bible. I observed that through faith, one could receive knowledge and power that brings conciliation and joy to life.

I will always have time to embrace my mother and sister, to kiss them every evening, and to tell them I love them. I will always find time to pay attention to my future family. But I don’t have time  to tell my father that I love him. I was always ashamed of doing it, yet I secretly wanted to. Now that I am ready, we don’t have any time together. He is gone, and I will always regret this.

Don’t repeat my mistake. Appreciate your time!

“And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” – John 8:32.

Leave a Reply

Categories

